Cygnet’s Annual Psychiatrists Award 2022 winners announced

Dr Maqsood Ahmad being presented with his award by Dr Tony Romero

The 2022 Cygnet Annual Psychiatrists Conference and Awards was hosted virtually on 21st September. The event celebrated all our incredible Cygnet Doctors and Mental Health teams!

The theme for this year’s conference was Co-production, and attendees has the opportunity to hear the latest research and developments in psychiatry, participate in workshops and network with peers from across the NHS, public and independent sectors.

We were joined by 3 fantastic keynote speakers:

  • Dr Russell Razzaque – Consultant Psychiatrist, Visiting Professor & Director of Research, North East London NHS Foundation Trust
  • Gareth Jarvis – Medical Director, Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust (Jameson Division)
  • Raf Hamaizia – Expert by Experience Lead, Cygnet Health Care

You can view videos of the opening remarks and the keynote speeches below:

Opening remarks by Dr Jon Van Niekerk

Dr Russell Razzaque

Gareth Jarvis

Raf Hamaizia & Dr Jon Van Niekerk

Meet our 2022 award winners

We had a huge number of high quality nominations for the different award categories.

The awards recognise the achievements and the difference that our motivated, compassionate and value-driven doctors and their teams make for our services users and our residents every single day.

We are so proud of all the nominees and winners. Congratulations to you all!

Swan Award (Award for outstanding Achievement)

  • WINNER: Maqsood Ahmad (Cygnet Hospital Stevenage)

Medical Educator of the Year

  • WINNER: Sohail Zafar (Cygnet Raglan House)
  • Omer Malik (Cygnet Churchill)
  • Sai Achuthan (Cygnet Hospital Kewstoke)
  • Mya Kalaya (Cygnet Hospital Taunton

Innovator of the Year

  • WINNER: Omer Malik (Cygnet Churchill)

Medical Leader of the Year

  • WINNER: Gbolagade Akintomide (Cygnet Hospital Hexham)
  • Sai Achuthan (Cygnet Hospital Kewstoke)
  • Dave Barker (Cygnet Hospital Taunton)
  • Venkat Boyapati (Cygnet Wallace Hospital)

Mental Health Team of the Year

  • WINNER: Cygnet Elms
  • Cygnet Cedars
  • Cygnet Hospital Taunton
  • Cygnet Churchill

SAS Doctor of the Year

  • WINNER: Mya Kalaya (Cygnet Hospital Taunton)
  • Rishi Malik (Cygnet Churchill)
  • Surur Davids (Cygnet Hospital Beckton)
  • Elizabeth Campbell (Cygnet Acer Clinic)

Consultant of the Year

  • WINNER: Sai Achuthan (Cygnet Hospital Kewstoke)
  • Ashraful Bari (Cygnet Heathers)
  • Enrique Bonell (Cygnet Sherwood Lodge/Broughton Lodge)
  • Sarmila Sinha (Cygnet Hospital Beckton)

You can view a video of the awards ceremony below.

Share this article